My First #Hallowreadathon

This year for Halloween I joined Imogen’s #Hallowreadathon for the very first time. I didn’t really know what to expect, except that it wouldn’t be easy. This year, Imogen challenged us to read two books in two days; at least one with a ghost in it, and one with red on the cover. For this reason, I went on a hunt for books that would fit these requirements and ended up with a list full of ghost stories – at least one of which fortunately had a cover that consisted almost entirely of red. Win! Speaking of winning, I also won Imogen’s Hallowreadathon Preparation Box giveaway, which will contain two books (meeting the requirements of this year’s #Hallowreadathon) and some treats. Unfortunately, the box didn’t arrive in time for the challenge, but I’m sure I’ll still enjoy reading them later on this month (and I will 100% enjoy eating those treats, too!). Now, without further ado, I present to you: the two books I read for this year’s #Hallowreadathon.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

1. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

After a very long introduction that almost made me give up on this book, things finally got exciting. It’s written in such a way that you almost breeze through it. Except for the fact that something very creepy is lurking in the dark! As I was reading this, I was on the edge of my seat, constantly wondering what was going to happen next. I also loved that the author played with the element of foreshadowing, which was just as creepy as the actual ghostly things happening in the book. I think what makes it even more scary is the fact that you never really get an answer as to what it is exactly that’s haunting Hill House. The only aspect that disappointed me (slightly) was the ending, which was a bit anti-climactic after that big build-up.

Beloved by Toni Morrison

2. Beloved by Toni Morrison

I wish I didn’t have to say this, but this book was a major disappointment. It was very dull and I was just constantly wishing it wasn’t as long. I’m guessing I would’ve enjoyed it more if I hadn’t gone in expecting a scary ghost story. But now I was turning every page expecting something exciting to happen, when all I really got was backstory upon backstory upon backstory, with a bit of paranormal activity here and there but nothing to really spook me. Had I known this beforehand, I would’ve definitely picked something else for my second read! Having said that, the book is well-written and I guess the story is gripping, but for different reasons entirely than the supernatural being making its appearance.

I had hoped to finish more than just these two books (I even had a whole list ready to go), but unfortunately I didn’t get around to reading any others. Reading a book in its entirety takes a bit longer than you’d expect, it seems!

But despite my choice of books turning out not to be top notch, I really enjoyed this #Hallowreadathon. It was so much fun to just spend most of my time reading and not really doing anything else. I’m definitely going to join again next year! Have you ever done any sort of “readathon”?

Leave a Reply

